Hell

Dante’s Inferno with Paul Gustave Doré engravings (1861). “Employing more than 40 woodcutters, he produced over 90 illustrated books.” (Encyclopedia Brittanica)

Dantes-Inferno-1The darkest places in Hell are reserved for those who maintain their neutrality in times of moral crisis. –Dante Alighieri

dore_dante_2

Maybe this world is another planet’s Hell.– Aldous Huxley

gustave_dore_3

And this is how I sometimes think of myself, as a great explorer who has discovered some extraordinary land from which he can never return to give his knowledge to the world: but the name of this land is Hell.
Malcolm Lowry, Under the Volcano

gustave_dore_4

The mind is its own place and in itself, can make a Heaven of Hell, a Hell of Heaven. –John Milton

gustave_dore_inferno 5

An intelligent Hell would be better than a stupid Paradise. – Victor Hugo

inferno 6

If you want to study the social and political history of modern nations, study Hell.–Thomas Merton

Minosse Inferno Dante Gustavo Dore 6

I have suffered from being misunderstood, but I would have suffered a hell of a lot more if I had been understood. – Clarence Darrow

the-inferno-canto-7No one has ever written, painted, sculpted, modeled, built, or invented except literally to get out of Hell. –Antonin Artaud

the-inferno-canto-8

To judge from the notions expounded by theologians, one must conclude that God created most men simply with a view to crowding Hell.–Marquis de Sade

the-inferno-canto-9

It is easy to go down into Hell; night and day, the gates of dark Death stand wide; but to clime back again, to retrace one’s steps to the upper air–there’s the rub, the task. – Virgil

dore1v

He who is the author of a war lets loose the whole contagion of Hell and opens a vein that bleeds a nation to death. – Thomas Paine

inferno14

There is no dignity in wickedness, whether in purple or rags; and Hell is a democracy of devils, where all are equals. – Herman Melville

About trueoutsider

I'm an artist.
This entry was posted in Printmakers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hell

  1. Paul Rumsey says:

    This series I like very much…. also known as Stradanus or Stradano…

    http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Jan_van_der_Straet_-_Inferno

    I had seen your etching on your gallery website. Is that hell? They seem to be enjoying themselves….

  2. trueoutsider says:

    Keeping you on your toes, amigo! There was a quote from an old copy of Lowry’s Under the Volcano that I owned back in the early 80s. I can only recall slightly and certainly inaccurately from memory the epigram that was printed in the front. It went something like. “Hell is a great place to visit. I can’t wait to get back.” I’ve long since lost the copy and my current copy and any other copies I’ve looked in don’t have the quote… Nor could I google it successfully…. perhaps I hallucinated it.

    Also, pen and ink drawing… not an etching…probably why it was so bright in comparison to the Dorés….

    I’ll have to put those wonderful Stradanus images up when I get the chance.

    One of these days I will stump you yet!

    Note that I’ve restored the post to harmony, so the comments will make little sense to those not in the know. I try to maintain a certain level of senselessness.

Leave a Reply

