What Is Art?

I’ve wrestled with the question for much of my life. Fortunately, I live in a country with people who are sophisticated and intelligent enough to have understood instinctively what art is and what it wasn’t, as it was displayed in the works of some of the greatest artists of the 20th century. For the longest time I’d been under the terrible misapprehension that art had something to do with paintings and drawings made by hand by an individual artist.

I’ve read volumes of American art critics and art criticism that have gone a long way toward helping me dispense with this total delusion. But their writing proved too hard to understand and above my limited level of intelligence. It seemed like total gibberish to me! Imagine. But fortunately I ran across the video below, that’s now made it all clear, boiling all that advanced art criticism down into the kind of simple plain language that gets to the heart of what these critics are trying to convey. And all in under 3 minutes!:

http://tinyurl.com/kv9s8u8

About trueoutsider

I'm an artist.
This entry was posted in Art of the Insane, Performance art, Post-Contemporary Art, Postmodernism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Is Art?

  1. Shep says:

    True outsider: Saw this today on Henri Matisse. What do u think?

    http://www.cbsnews.com/videos/henri-matisse-and-a-new-art-form/

Leave a Reply

