Politically Correct Art

Yale was really the place where movements like minimalism were born with great giants of painting like Jack Tworkov were teaching and all the little clone minimalists were taking notes avidly. Conceptualism is a natural for the Ivy League art schools… they’re all so articulate and intellectual at Yale… Process Art… Happenings!… Earth Art… Op Art!11. Glow in the dark fluorescent tube art… Genius level stuff all the way.

And have we slipped a bit since then? Not on your life. Just tune in below! As we listen to one of the “Yalies” as they call themselves tell their teacher just how he better behave if he doesn’t want to have his ass fired for not being properly politically correct. I imagine the portion where he ceremonially kisses each one of his students’ asses in turn has been lost somehow:

[The context for the students polite and well-reasoned criticism can be found here.  It’s incredibly offensive just to have to read the recommendation made by these Yale tyrants about what costumes they should or shouldn’t wear.]

Or here’s a good story by a writer who went to give a lecture at Boston College. He came to find out that he’d better watch the kinds of words he uses to refer to people either on or off campus unless he doesn’t want to be slapped with a lawsuit . It’s called Good Little Maoists.

Boston is well known as the bastion of our upstanding Liberal values… Just look at Teddy Kennedy, one of his tributes to women lying at the bottom of the water off Chappaquiddick Island. His brother Jack was quite a gentleman with the ladies from what I’ve read as well. Joyce Carol Oates had a pretty good re-enactment of his affair with Marilyn Monroe in her novel Blonde. That’s a fantastic read… or for those who don’t read why not check out the audio book? It’s a thriller from page one!

In the next round of Art Jeopardy the big prize winner is going to be whoever can give me the answer to these two questions:

  1. What is the name of the innocent woman killed in the car crash when the blindly drunk and violently aggressive and suicidal Jackson Pollock drove his car at high speed into a tree?

and

  1. What is the name of the woman that Ted Kennedy murdered when he drove his car drunk into the water off Chappaquiddick Island and who apparently lived for quite a while underwater and might have been rescued had he reported the accident in a timely fashion, great hero of womens’ rights that he was all his life. Answer found here.

In case Dorfmann wants to check the sources here… “She didn’t drown. She died of suffocation in her own air void. It took her at least three our four hours to die. I could have had her out of that car twenty-five minutes after I got the call. But he [Ted kennedy] didn’t call.”

Joyce Carol Oates wrote another blistering account of this in a work of fiction called “Black Water. ” Why Joyce Carol Oates hasn’t been recognized as one of the greatest American writers of the American Century, towering against most of the lesser male writers who get so many of the honors, I can only imagine. The books are two of the most harrowing accounts of the mistreatment of women by men in power that I’ve read by any other American writer.

About trueoutsider

I'm an artist.
This entry was posted in Art and Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Politically Correct Art

  1. kinneret says:

    I love your work, Bart–your artwork and your writing. Your art reminds me of Klee, Beckmann, Bosch, Dix, and who knows who else. Did you read that Joyce Carol Oates book/would you recommend that one? She’s so prolific I wouldn’t know which is best to read. I only know a story or two. BTW I ran across a painter I think you would really like. http://kinneretstern.com/2015/04/07/terrance-lindall-b-1944-minneapolis-from-illustration-for-miltons-paradise-lost/
    http://kinneretstern.com/2015/05/12/erik-thor-sandburg-washington-dc-artist/
    http://kinneretstern.com/2015/03/03/henryk-fantazos-catfish-tableau/
    Especially the last… he has a great website, too if you Google him.

  2. trueoutsider says:

    Thanks, Kim. Nice of you to say so. I hope to get acquainted with what you’re up to as well. I can tell you’re a live wired. I meet few of those in my dotage. I certainly do feel connected to those artists you mention, although I was working like them before I knew them. The same goes for Ensor, who I feel the closest to of any artist I think and for reasons that have made sense to me as I’ve grown older.

    I really liked the Lindall stuff and am going to check out the other two and get back to you on Joyce Carol when I can find a minute. I’ve got all this Thanksgiving guest stuff going on…

    Oy… what can I say? Holidays….

    I love Joyce Carol, as well as Margaret Atwood. And I noted your mention of PKD and Kafka on you blog, although I’ve only had a chance to just glance at things momentarily. Those are two enormous influences. I’m probably more influenced by literature like theirs then I am by an contemporary painters, who I feel close to no connection to whatsoever, other than that I feel like like tearing what’s left of my hair out when I see their work, or read what they have to say.

    I have most of PKD’s work but haven’t read all of it. Just started in on Galactic Pot Healer last week.. Vaguely watching The Man in the High Castle on Amazon… but I don’t really watch TV that closely… It’s never interested me in the way visual art or writing does. For reasons beyond my imagining it seems to fascinate everyone else completely. They all seem mesmerized at this point…

  3. trueoutsider says:

    Sorry for the long delay on getting back to you on the Joyce Carol Oates question… Have had to deal with all kinds of headaches lately and haven’t been able to get to the blog.

    Anyway, hope you’re still following and get this.

    I’ve liked every single one of Joyce Carol Oates books enormously, so it’s hard for me to select out one that I’d recommend.

    One of my favorite short stories by her was a blistering attack on Robert Frost that ran not that long ago in Harper’s and that I’m hoping is collected at some point.

    The short story collection The Corn Maiden is a great collection of her shorter fiction.

    I’d recommend Blonde, not because it’s my favorite novel, but having just read Nick Tosches’ “Dino” I was put in mind of Blonde (a fictional work about Marilyn Monroe). I think reading those two books together one can form a pretty clear idea of how poisonous our culture has become at this point, as it grew out of the barbarity of the Mcarthy/Nixon 50s, which seemingly everyone wants to remember as some kind of family values utopia.

    With Jimmy Carter we had a brief glimpse of some kind of possible sanity which was immediately shut down by the American people themselves by electing Reagan…. We now live with the consequences of that decision.

Leave a Reply

